What is the Anatomy of the Spine?

The typical anatomy of the spine is normally described by splitting up the spine into 3 major sections: the cervical, the thoracic, and the lumbar spine. (Below the lumbar spine is a bone labeled as the sacrum, and is functionally part of the pelvis). Each part is composed of its own bones called vertebrae. There are 7 cervical vertebrae, 12 thoracic vertebrae, and 5 lumbar vertebrae in the human spine.

A vertebra is composed of several parts. The body of the vertebra is the main area of body weight bearing and creates a resting spot for the fibrous discs, separating each of the vertebrae. The lamina covers the spinal canal, the big hole within the location of the vertebra through which the spinal nerves pass. The spinous procedure is definitely the bone tissue you can easily become whenever running your hands down your in return. The paired transverse processes tend to be driven 90 levels to the spinous process and offer attachment for in return muscles.

These interlock because of the neighboring vertebrae and supply stability to the spine. The vertebrae are really separated by intervertebral discs acting as cushions from the bones. Each disk is composed of two parts. The solid, strong exterior layer also known as the annulus surrounds a soft, wet structure called the nucleus. Whenever a disc herniates or ruptures, the delicate nucleus spurts out through a tear within the annulus, and can compress a nerve root. The nucleus can squirt out on either part of the disk or in some situations both sides.